scroll down

Planning & Zoning

North Dakota Tourism

Planning and Zoning

PHONE: (701) 523-3129

104 1st St NW, Suite 4
Bowman, ND 58623

Bowman County Planning and Zoning

The Department of Planning and Zoning is responsible for administration of the Bowman County zoning and subdivision regulations, staff support to the Bowman County Planning and Zoning Board, and long-range planning for land use and development in Bowman County.


Monday -Thursday 7:30 am to 12:00 pm & 12:30 pm to 4:30 pm MT
Friday 7:30 am to 12:00 pm MT
(Closed on Legal Holidays)


County Planning & Zoning Minutes

May 14, 2020
6:00 pm

The Bowman County Planning and Zoning Commission met in regular session on May 14, 2020,

via telephone conference due to COVID-19 restrictions.  Members present:  Lynn Brackel, Jerid Janikowski, Jerry Jeffers, Doyle Kruger, Rod Schaff, Michael Sondeland and Myron Vail.  Member absent:  Ryan Shear.  Also present Co-Zoning Directors, Dean Pearson and Jodi Freier.

Guests present via telephone conference:  John Throckmorton, representative from Municipal Shale, LLC.


Chairman Janikowski called the meeting to order at 6:00 pm.


The only order of business was a Conditional Use request from Municipal Shale, LLC to change agricultural land to commercial land located in the NE ¼ Section 26, Township 132, Range 104 West for the placement of a cell phone tower.   

Brackel made a motion to approve, with the condition that weed control management will be completed in and around the area.    Sondeland seconded the motion.  A roll call vote was taken with all members voting aye.  Motion carried.  Final approval will be considered at the next county commission meeting. 

The next meeting is scheduled for June 11, 2020 at 6:00 pm.

 Jeffers made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 6:25 pm, with Schaff seconding the motion.


Respectively submitted,


Sandra K. Tivis (s) Secretary

County Planning and Zoning Meetings

The Bowman County Planning and Zoning board will meet in the County Commission Room of the Bowman County Courthouse. See the Meeting Calendar for upcoming meeting dates.

County Planning and Zoning Board

Jerry Jeffers President        
Doyle Kruger Member
Ryan Shear Member
Myron Vail Member
Michael Sondeland Member
Jarid Janikowski Member
Robb Pierce Member
Rod Schaff Member
Lynn Brackel Member
Jodi Freier Co-Director
Dean Pearson Co-Director