scroll down



101 1st St NE
Box 12
Bowman, ND 58623-0012



Image may contain: text




Public Notice

Fireworks Ordinance Changes

Dated:  6/3/20

The City of Bowman has amended the fireworks ordinance, effective 6/12/20.  Please note the changes made below.  There will be a City Commission Meeting on July 21, 2020 at 5:00 pm at City Hall requesting input from the residents regarding the dates and times allowed for ignition and sale of fireworks for the years 2021 and thereafter.  

  1. Fireworks – Discharging of, Sale of:  

4.   Fireworks or other such related devices may not be sold within the City limits of the City of

      Bowman before June 28th or after July 4th.


5.   Fireworks or other such related devices shall only be discharged within the City of Bowman between the hours of:

                        June 28th to July 2nd    12:00 pm  to 10:00 pm

                        July 3rd to July 4th       12:00 pm  to 12:00 am

6.   No person shall ignite/discharge fireworks within or throw from a motor vehicle or at any person, group of people, animal or group of animals.  Ignition or discharge of fireworks shall take place so as to not endanger persons, animals, buildings, structures, property, brush, automotive vehicles and/or equipment, etc.

7.   No person shall ignite or discharge any fireworks within one-hundred (100) feet of a fireworks booth, gasoline service stations, gasoline dispensers, flammable or combustible liquid tank fill or vent lines, above –ground flammable or combustible liquid tanks, or any building structure or vehicle containing unsealed flammable or combustible liquids, hazardous materials or explosives. 

8.   Littering:  Any person failing to remove fireworks residue from their street or sidewalk caused by their ignition or discharge within one (1) hour after completion of ignition or discharge shall be guilty of littering and each day in which the litter is not abated will be deemed a separate offense.

9.   The City of Bowman City Commission shall have the authority to prohibit the discharging of fireworks within City limits due to dry conditions that cause a fire concern.  If the City Commission prohibits the discharging of fireworks under this Section, public notice shall be given by posting the notice at places within the City where fireworks are sold and by publication in the City of Bowman’s official newspaper. 


NEWS RELEASE     |     FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE     |     May 8, 2020 

NDDOT begins Smart Restart with phased reopening

BISMARCK, N.D. – The North Dakota Department of Transportation (NDDOT) is planning a phased approach to reopen with prioritized in-person driver license and motor vehicle services across the state beginning May 11.

“We are here to serve the citizens of North Dakota, but safety is our top priority,” said Bill Panos, NDDOT director. “Many of our services can be done online, but we have road tests and a few other processes that require in-person service. We plan to use the ND Smart Restart guidelines to improve the safety and resilience of our operations now and in the future.”

NDDOT’s initial phase requires customers to make appointments by phone ahead of time. Walk-ins will not be accepted at this time. To schedule an appointment for prioritized services, customers should call the toll-free number at 1-855-633-6835.

NDDOT’s Smart Restart focuses on safely providing customers service with controlled access to facilities and eliminating the backlog of requests. Driver licenses and motor vehicle tabs due March 1, 2020 until disaster declaration has ended, remain valid and do not need to be renewed at this time, per the Governor’s Emergency Declaration, that waived expiration dates. 

Driver License services offered at this time by appointment only include:

  • Commercial Driver License (CDL) Knowledge and Road tests
  • H2-A (temporary Ag workers)
  • CDL renewal with HazMat
  • Regular Driver License (Class D) Knowledge and Road tests
  • Work permits (Temporary Restricted License)
  • License expired before March 1 (65+, regular renewals)
  • Out of state transfers
  • Motorcycle knowledge tests
  • ID cards for voting

Many driver license services such as change of address, renewals, replacements and more are available online at

The Federal Transportation Security Agency (TSA) has extended the deadline of REAL-ID until October 1, 2021. Appointments for REAL-ID only will not be accepted at this time.

Motor Vehicle services offered at this time by appointment only include:

  • Vehicle Title work - all types of titles
  • Truck weight changes
  • Large trucks 2290 required

Motor vehicle services such as license plates and titling can also be done by mailing-in paperwork. Vehicle renewals can be done online, at a self-service kiosk or by mail. Motor Vehicle kiosk fees for renewing your vehicle are waived until the emergency declaration has ended. Call local Motor Vehicle offices for service information at that location or check NDDOT’s website.

Please continue to watch the NDDOT website for the most up-to-date information at



WHEREAS, COVID-19 is a severe respiratory illness, caused by the SARS-CoV-2 virus, a new strain of coronavirus that is spread from person to person, posing a threat to the health and safety of the residents of Bowman, North Dakota; and

WHEREAS, the Bowman City Commission recognizes that declaring an emergency allows the President of the Bowman City Commission to have some emergency powers to take steps to remedy or mitigate the emergency situation and to inform the citizens of the seriousness of the situation, and

WHEREAS, United States Department of Health and Human Services Secretary Alex Azar declared a nation public health emergency for COVID-19 on January 27th 2020; and

WHEREAS, On March 13, 2020, President Donald Trump issued a declaration of national emergency due to the growing COVID-19 crisis in the United States and ND Governor Doug Burgum issued a declaration of a state emergency in response to the public health crisis resulting from the novel COVID-19; and

WHEREAS, the North Dakota Department of Health activated its Emergency Operations Center in January 2020 and has been actively coordinating and in communication with health care providers, schools, universities, childcare providers, business, churches and the general public to make sure North Dakotans are educated and as prepared as possible to assist in reducing the spread of COVID -19; and

WHEREAS, proactively implemented preparedness containment and mitigation measures to slow the transmission and reduce the impact of the virus is in the best interest of North Dakotans and thus the city of Bowman and its citizens; and

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that pursuant to the Home Rule Charter of the City of Bowman, N.D.C.C. § 37-17.1-10, and N.D.C.C. § 40-05-01, the President of the City of Bowman does hereby declare an emergency in the response to the public health crisis resulting from the novel coronavirus (COVID-19), to recover from the situation, reduce hardship, and initiate the appropriate relief actions and mitigation measures by departments and agencies of local government to limit the hardships and impact of this emergency upon the citizens of Bowman.

Notice from the City of Bowman

                City Hall Rental Policy Change:  Due to the meistreatment during parties held at Bowman City Hall, the Bowman City Commission has decided to only allow City Hall to be rented out for:  business meetings, classes, and blood drives.  The cost for meetings and classes will be $50.00 and if you request to set up the day before, there will be an additional $15.00 fee.